What Motivates You?

Pass on some useful advice or information you learned and always remembered.

I am currently wrestling with the question “what do I want to be when I grow up?”  I want to love my job so I have been wrestling with what is a career I would enjoy.

Through this season I remember the advice my Dad told me back in college.

First let me introduce my father! I think he is an awesome dad for many reasons but today I will share some of the advice he gave me about work.

Dad and I

My parents and younger sisters lived in El Salvador for three years while I was in college, and during the summer they would come back to Austin.  One summer day my father and I went mountain bike shopping for him to take back to El Salvador.  My Dad is a very athletic and adventure-seeking guy so it was not surprising he wanted a new toy but the shopping trip spurred into conversation about work and motivation.  He explained, “I work hard to have fun. Having fun is what motivates me. You have to find what motivate you and go after it.”

I think about what he said a lot to remind myself to stay true to who I am and that I am not defined by a job.  When the pressure of wanting a good job mounts I remember his advice and I look at the bigger picture.  Looking at my goals and my strengths to take my next step forward.  I love to care for people whether that is through my job or my hobbies it motivates me, and I will pursue caring for others in someway.

Also, my Dad still says he does not know what he wants to be when he grows up.  Good, I have a few more years to figure everything out!  <sigh>

I want to get to know you! What motivates you?

Leave a Reply

