Liz Carpenter Lecture Series

Monday night was a fun night out with my mom and sister Julia at the Liz Carpenter Lecture Series!

Julia, Mom and I

Julia, Mom and I

I heard about the Liz Carpenter Lecture Series at The University of Texas through a discussion group I am in at work about Sheryl Sandburg’s book Lean In.  I invited my mom to join me because I thought she would enjoy the lecture too.  She originally encouraged me to read Lean In because of how much she loved it!  My sister Julia joined too!  (And she got into college!! Whoot!)

Gail Collins, the first female New York Times op-ed editor, spoke about the journey of women from the 1960’s to the present.  Gail was a great speaker and story-teller.  I loved hearing her stories about women who faced adversity and fought for change over the past 50 years.  It was fascinating to hear that 50 years ago a woman couldn’t wear slacks to pay a parking ticket! If you got a job as a flight attendant your picture was published in the paper, but you couldn’t be married if you were a flight attendant.  Crazy!

It was a fun night all round!  We talked about Julia and my cousins going off to college, ate ice cream and pizza, and saw a college fire drill!  When walking back to the car there were a ton of students standing outside; it took me a second to figure out what was going on.  Finally I realized I use to stand around outside when my dorm had a fire drill! One time it happened in the middle of the night and my roommate almost couldn’t wake me up!  She thought I had died and was mad I was a deep sleeper! Ha! I told Julia to get ready for fire drills next year!  I use to fear a fire drill happening when I was in the shower, I am glad that never happened!

It’s not a full evening unless you’ve laughed and went to an intellectual lecture. That’s a saying right?

Have you read Lean In, did you like it?

Do your remember dorm fire drills in college? 

 

Shout Out to another awesome lady!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY ELSA!!!

Leave a Reply

